The Next Big Thing

A bunch of writers are writing similar posts this weekend about the books we’re currently writing.  We’re all answering the same questions about our works-in-progress, so be sure to check out the links at the end of this post.

Here are the ten questions we’re answering, along with my responses:

What is your working title of your book?

The Tribulations of Tompa Lee. I envisage it as the second book in a triology:

  • The Trial of Tompa Lee (currently available)
  • >> The Tribulations of Tompa Lee <<
  • The Triumph of Tompa Lee (which is currently just a gleam in my eye)
 Where did the idea come from for the book?

It grew out of The Trial of Tompa Lee, in which the heroine captured the imagination of the Shon Wod Zee, the intelligent natives of an alien world. A spacefaring race, the lizard-like Klicks, had exploited the Shons for centuries by dint of an exclusive trade agreement. Following Tompa’s heroics during her trial, the Shons renounced that trade agreement and signed one with humans, instead.

That was all in the first book. But would the Klicks give up so easily? I didn’t think so. That was the seed from which this book sprouted. The Klicks strike back!

What genre does your book fall under?

It’s a science fiction adventure with romantic elements.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?
  • Tompa Lee: I see her as a woman I used to know, rather than an actress, but what the heck, I’ll go with whichever actress is currently the biggest box office draw. I assure you, though, that there’s nothing mercenary in this choice. 🙂
  • Sergei Ming, Tompa’s love interest: Omar Sharif in his Lawrence of Arabia days. That hair! Those eyes! That smoldering intensity!
  • Keevie, the evil Klick leader: Godzilla.
  • Awmit, Tompa’s Shon friend: E.T.
What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

The evil Klicks strike back, driving Tompa Lee and a few supporters across an alien wildlife preserve teeming with ravenous, exotic beasts and vengeful Klicks.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

The prequel (The Trial of Tompa Lee) was published in hard cover by Five Star Speculative Fiction, but I self-published the e-book versions. Independent presses have advanced so much, though, that I plan to bypass traditional outlets and self-publish this book.  I’m aiming for March, 2013.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

Can’t say, because I’m not quite done (although I have an outline so thorough it’s almost a first draft in itself). I’m drafting it for National Novel Writing Month, and am on track to finish the draft by the end of November.

UPDATE: I’m done!

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

Several people have compared my science fiction to that of C.J. Cherryh because of the depth my alien races exhibit. I’m flattered!

At the same time, I think there’s a touch of the SF adventures of Jack Vance and Philip Jose Farmer, which feature non-stop action.

Who or what inspired you to write this book?

A few years ago, an editor at Ace Books expressed interest in a sequel to The Trial of Tompa Lee. At the time, I was busy with other projects, but the idea percolated in my subconscious and has finally bubbled to the surface.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?
  • Tompa is just 5 feet, 1/8 inches tall, yet she’s a kick-ass heroine with a chip on her shoulder. The Shons think she’s a goddess, even.
  • Dante Roussel, who died saving Tompa in the first book, now lives in Tompa’s head. Is she insane, or divinely inspired?  And is there a difference?
  • In the midst of running for her life and single-handedly saving her followers from beasts and Klicks, my cynical heroine undergoes her first sexual awakening.  Awkward timing, to say the least.

Tag–you’re it!

Here are some other great writers, friends of mine.  Visit them now, or I’ll sic Tompa Lee on  you–and remember, she’s a kick-ass heroine!

Rules of The Next Big Thing blog hop:

Include the link of who tagged you and this explanation for the people you have tagged.

***Use this format for your post
***Answer the ten questions about your current WIP (work in progress)
***Tag five other writers/bloggers and add their links so we can hop over and meet them.
Ten Interview Questions for the Next Big Thing:
What is your working title of your book?
Where did the idea come from for the book?
What genre does your book fall under?
Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?
What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?
Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?
How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?
What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?
Who or what inspired you to write this book?
What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?
Include the link of who tagged you and this explanation for the people you have tagged.

11 comments

  1. Ed,
    Your story sounds terrific. I love it that you’ve woven in the romance to the Sci-Fy. Go Tompa Lee!

  2. Thanks, Paula. You’ve been writing so much during NaNoWriMo that I’m looking forward to the chance to read it.

  3. […] (WiP). Thanks to three of my writer friends — Amber Belldene, Paula Millhouse, and Ed Hooanaert for tagging me. I’ll tag other writers at the end of my […]

  4. Thanks for stopping by, Celia!

  5. Ed, as you know, I loved The Trials of Tompa Lee, and especially Dante. I’m glad I get more of him, even just in her head. I completely agree that your alien cultures are fascinating and deep. Can’t wait to read this!

    1. Thanks so much for the kind words, Amber. I’ve enjoyed revisiting Tompa. It’s like catching up with an old friend you haven’t seen for a few years. I doubt she’s glad to see me, though, considering how I’m torturing her with continued obstacles and struggled.

  6. […] Ed Hoornaert – James Bond in real life, sci-fi romance author by night […]

  7. […] Ed Hoornaert – A skilled weaver of science fiction adventure with romantic elements. […]

  8. Thanks for the kind words, Amanda and Tara!

  9. […] fun when you have a bunch of writer pals cheering you on. I’m looking at you Amber, Paula, Trish, Ed and […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.